Escort Radar Forum  

Go Back   Escort Radar Forum > Windshield Radar Detectors > MAX 360

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 11th, 2015
xquizet xquizet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: mississippi
Posts: 40
Default No GPS connection?

When i press the mark button my says no gps... ideas?

MODERATOR: This post is off-topic and not related to the Max 360 FAQ. I'll move your question to the Max 360 area with a new title so that others may view it.

Last edited by TBNTX; November 12th, 2015 at 12:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 12th, 2015
TBNTX's Avatar
TBNTX TBNTX is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 6,908
Default

Users of any of Escort's GPS-enabled detectors cannot mark a location if they don't have a good GPS connection.

Make sure that you have GPS enabled on your Max 360, ensure that the detector has a clear view of the sky (meaning that there is no metal over the detector), and that your windshield isn't an athermic design, or that it has any tinting with metallic content.
__________________


Countermeasures:

Radar Detectors: Max 360c, Redline EX, Max 360, & others plus Escort Live!
Dashcam: Escort M1 and Thinkware F750

-------------------------------------
Moderators here are not Escort employees.

If you need immediate help, please call Escort Radar customer service right after they open at 9:00 A.M. Eastern time, at 1-800-543-1608, option 2. Wait for the pause following the message and use the option for a call-back.
-------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 12th, 2015
xquizet xquizet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: mississippi
Posts: 40
Default

Same location my 9500ix was... same location my max2 was... gps check on in my detector settings within the live app.. what is the procedure to cut it on without the live app may i ask
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 12th, 2015
TBNTX's Avatar
TBNTX TBNTX is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 6,908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xquizet View Post
Same location my 9500ix was... same location my max2 was... gps check on in my detector settings within the live app.. what is the procedure to cut it on without the live app may i ask
It's easy to do directly on the detector: please refer to the information on page 13 of the Max 360 Owner's manual, found here:

https://www.escortradar.com/pdf/2015...nersManual.pdf
__________________


Countermeasures:

Radar Detectors: Max 360c, Redline EX, Max 360, & others plus Escort Live!
Dashcam: Escort M1 and Thinkware F750

-------------------------------------
Moderators here are not Escort employees.

If you need immediate help, please call Escort Radar customer service right after they open at 9:00 A.M. Eastern time, at 1-800-543-1608, option 2. Wait for the pause following the message and use the option for a call-back.
-------------------------------------

Last edited by TBNTX; November 19th, 2015 at 01:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 14th, 2015
jammer jammer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Default No GPS

Max360 - GPS was working, now not working. Have the latest software/firmware, tested it outside the car, still no GPS. The setting is on for GPS. It seems to be intermittent, but mostly not working now.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 14th, 2015
TBNTX's Avatar
TBNTX TBNTX is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 6,908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jammer View Post
Max360 - GPS was working, now not working. Have the latest software/firmware, tested it outside the car, still no GPS. The setting is on for GPS. It seems to be intermittent, but mostly not working now.
Asking a question - and this is for trouble-shooting purposes only - if you are in your driveway or in the street, and you fire up the detector while holding it outside your vehicle, does it acquire a GPS signal?
__________________


Countermeasures:

Radar Detectors: Max 360c, Redline EX, Max 360, & others plus Escort Live!
Dashcam: Escort M1 and Thinkware F750

-------------------------------------
Moderators here are not Escort employees.

If you need immediate help, please call Escort Radar customer service right after they open at 9:00 A.M. Eastern time, at 1-800-543-1608, option 2. Wait for the pause following the message and use the option for a call-back.
-------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 18th, 2015
DoBerry DoBerry is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Western KY
Posts: 22
Default

Does the 360 tell you is gps is not acquired like the 9500ix?
__________________
Max 360, 9500ix (the early version)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 18th, 2015
poolmon poolmon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,952
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoBerry View Post
Does the 360 tell you is gps is not acquired like the 9500ix?
There is no GPS acquired alert when you first turn on the MAX when it acquires GPS lock. The MAX will tell you when you lose the GPS lock (but there is a built in delay from losing it of about 15 seconds until you get such alert, to see if it can first be reacquired in that time frame). After you get an alert that GPS is lost, you will then get an alert that it has been reacquired once it has been.

This all assumes that you have the "Voice" Preference "On". Some 360 users have indicated they are running with Voices Off (I'm not sure why?). If voices are Off I do not no if you get a warning beep in lieu of the voice alert as I have not tried it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 18th, 2015
TBNTX's Avatar
TBNTX TBNTX is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 6,908
Default

AFAIK, there's no specific indication when the Max 360 has a GPS lock. However, if the detector is showing your driving speed, then it has acquired GPS.
__________________


Countermeasures:

Radar Detectors: Max 360c, Redline EX, Max 360, & others plus Escort Live!
Dashcam: Escort M1 and Thinkware F750

-------------------------------------
Moderators here are not Escort employees.

If you need immediate help, please call Escort Radar customer service right after they open at 9:00 A.M. Eastern time, at 1-800-543-1608, option 2. Wait for the pause following the message and use the option for a call-back.
-------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 19th, 2015
DoBerry DoBerry is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Western KY
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TBNTX View Post
AFAIK, there's no specific indication when the Max 360 has a GPS lock. However, if the detector is showing your driving speed, then it has acquired GPS.
Thank you sir. I should have known that.
__________________
Max 360, 9500ix (the early version)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 Escort Inc.