Escort Radar Forum  

Go Back   Escort Radar Forum > Windshield Radar Detectors > RedLine 360c

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 28th, 2021
DeputyDog95 DeputyDog95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 29
Default For those using the Android app...

What do you think?

Seems a bit buggy to me.

The drop down notification, even if you press on it as instructed but the notification, does nothing.

When you close the app, the notification won't go away. You have to reboot the phone.

I was trying to do updates using my home wifi, but I thought it might be better to use the hot spot on my phone. Can't seem to find a way to change what I already setup.

Thoughts and suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 28th, 2021
DeputyDog95 DeputyDog95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 29
Default

Also, is there a way to see what version of the software the RL360 is running, using the app?

I haven't been able to find that yet.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 28th, 2021
F22 Raptor's Avatar
F22 Raptor F22 Raptor is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Seattle-Tacoma Wa.
Posts: 457
Default

You should be able to go to setting and find that out, I was trying to pull it up but since I'm not connected it want show but go to setting, the setting for your Redline.
__________________
Escort Redline 360C= Coming
Escort Max ll
Viofo A129 Pro Duo 4K
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 1st, 2021
DeputyDog95 DeputyDog95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 29
Default

There should be, but I haven't been able to find it yet...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 4th, 2021
F22 Raptor's Avatar
F22 Raptor F22 Raptor is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Seattle-Tacoma Wa.
Posts: 457
Default

I have a unlimited data plan but it same that the wi-fi have to be the same as your phone so what I did is just use my home as a hotspot and make sure that the same wi-fi name is in your setting.
__________________
Escort Redline 360C= Coming
Escort Max ll
Viofo A129 Pro Duo 4K
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 4th, 2021
DeputyDog95 DeputyDog95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by F22 Raptor View Post
I have a unlimited data plan but it same that the wi-fi have to be the same as your phone so what I did is just use my home as a hotspot and make sure that the same wi-fi name is in your setting.
I'm a little confused by your post.

Are you saying that your mobile phone hotspot has to have the same name and PW as your phone hotspot?

If so, why?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 4th, 2021
EscortRadar's Avatar
EscortRadar EscortRadar is offline
Official Escort Rep
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 17,080
Default

Whatever device is running Escort Live must be connected to the same Wi-Fi hotspot that you want to connect the detector too. You cannot connect your phone's personal hotspot to itself.

While we do not specifically support using a phone's personal hotspot, it may work. To do this run Escort Live on another phone or tablet that is connected to the phone's personal hotspot.

To view the detector's firmware version: hold down Mute and Mark (remember M&M) while powering on the detector.
__________________

Escort Radar customer service is available from 9am-5:00pm Eastern Time Mon-Fri at 1-800-543-1608 or you can fill out a repair form and we will contact you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 4th, 2021
DeputyDog95 DeputyDog95 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EscortRadar View Post
Whatever device is running Escort Live must be connected to the same Wi-Fi hotspot that you want to connect the detector too. You cannot connect your phone's personal hotspot to itself.

While we do not specifically support using a phone's personal hotspot, it may work. To do this run Escort Live on another phone or tablet that is connected to the phone's personal hotspot.

To view the detector's firmware version: hold down Mute and Mark (remember M&M) while powering on the detector.
I see now. I thought the detector was doing its own thing via wifi, irrespective of my cell phone. Apparently my phone/liveapp and the detector are all tied together.

I'll just keep using my home's wifi. It barely reaches my car in the driveway, but it does seem to work. That appears to be the simplest solution.

Curious though...

If the detector is connected to my phone via BT.
And my phone is connected to the internet, regardless if its wifi or mobile data.

Why can't you just use your phone's cellular internet to update the phone if you chose to do so and aren't worrying about data overages, etc?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 9th, 2021
Commander Commander is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 131
Default

OK, I just got my 360c and being a software developer, I know android very well and how apps operate, so I figured out a few tricks...

1) Yes, it is a bug in the live app that when you tap on the notification, it should bring the live app to the foreground.

But, instead of having to reboot your phone to close the app and prevent it from running in the background, you can simply:
- Long tap on the notification
- Tap on the gear icon in the top right of the expanded notification
- Tap on the app icon at the top
- Select "Force Stop"

2) It seems the live app won't let you switch to a new wifi ap (or hotspot) unless you "forget" the current one. To forget the current one, simply:
- Go into "Wifi Settings"
- Click on "Connect to wi-fi network"
- It should display the currently saved wifi ap.
- DO NOT specify the password and click "Join"
- It will show a spinning "Connecting to wifi" for a minute, then give an error.
- The app has now "forgot" the wifi ap and a new one can be set.

3) You can absolutely get the 360c to connect to your phone hotspot, but you need to use a second phone to do the initial setup (but then you don't need that second phone anymore).

Basically, when the live app "searches" for an ap to have the 360c connect to, it can't "see" its own hotpot so thats why its not listed.
So, you need to:
- Remember to "forget" any previous wifi ap as explained in item #2 above
- Install the live app on another phone and bluetooth pair the 360c to it.
- Turn on the hotspot on your main phone
- Using the second phone, go into wifi settings and add your main phone's wifi hotspot. (UPDATE, you may have to connect your second phone to your main phone's hotspot to be able to "see" it.)
- Thats it! (you don't need the second phone anymore)

Now, when you turn on your phone' hotspot, you won't even have to use the live app to get over-speed limit alerts, and the 360c will prompt you if there are any updates to the firmware or defender database when it powers on (only if your hotspot is already on when the 360c powers on because the 360c only checks for updates on power up so it needs the wifi connection on power up).

Also, you don't need to have you phone's hotspot on prior to turning on your 360c (except for the update check as mentioned above) - It appears the 360c is always "looking" for the wifi ap. So whenever you turn on your hotspot, the 360c should connect to it within 30 seconds.

Hope this helps!

Last edited by Commander; July 9th, 2021 at 07:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 9th, 2021
poolmon poolmon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,952
Default

Thanks for all the tips!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 Escort Inc.